Venepuncture & Intravenous Cannulation Combined (Adult)

 

Purpose

To facilitate participants to develop the knowledge and skills required to undertake safe and effective venepuncture and intravenous cannulation.

Learning Outcomes

By the end of the session the participant will be able to:

  • Discuss the legal and professional implications of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation.
  • Outline the anatomy and physiology of the venous system.
  • Discuss the criteria applied to site selection and choosing a device.
  • Outline the principles of Aseptic Non-Touch Technique and EPIC 3 guidelines.
  • Identify potential complications of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation.
  • Demonstrate the skill of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation via simulated practice.

Audience

Registered Nurses/Midwives (not suitable for Paediatric/Neonatal Staff).

 

Please Note: This is not suitable for Band 3 Staff

Method

Lecture, Discussion, Demonstration and Simulated Practice.

Cost

£105.00

Please note you will be informed in advance if there is a direct cost to you or your organisation for your attendance at this programme.




Back to Top for Course Dates

Please select an appropriate time and venue and click the apply button to register for this course.

Label Dates & Times Venue Facilitator Administrator
Monday 11 June 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Belfast Graham Divine
Heather Brennan
Fully Booked
Thursday, 14 June, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Belfast Heather Middleton
Hazel Conn
Fully Booked
Friday, 6 July, 2018
(9:15 - 4:30)
CEC - Belfast Brian McEnteggart
Heather Brennan
Fully Booked
Monday, 9 July, 2018
(9:15 - 4:30)
CEC - Belfast Brian McEnteggart
Heather Brennan
Fully Booked
Thursday, 19 July, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Craigavon Heather Middleton
Hazel Conn
Fully Booked
Friday 20 July 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Belfast Graham Divine
Heather Brennan
Fully Booked
Wednesday 25 July 2018
(9.00 - 4.30)
CEC - Antrim Doreen Craig
Kylie Steinberg
Fully Booked
Thursday, 2 August, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Craigavon Anne-Marie Phillips
Debbie Verlaque
Monday 6 August 2018
(9.15 - 12.30)
CEC - Belfast Graham Divine
Heather Brennan
Wednesday, 8 August, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Craigavon Sharon Maginn
Hazel Conn
Wednesday, 15 August, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
Southwest Acute Hospital Betty Dolan
Briege Bradley
Wednesday, 29 August, 2018
(9.15 - 4.30)
CEC - Craigavon Heather Middleton
Hazel Conn
Wednesday, 12 September, 2018
(9.30 - 4.30)
CEC - Altnagelvin Evelyn Walton
Stella McFadden
Fully Booked